Do you wear a Uniform to work?

A girlfriend of mine, “A” was telling me about how she was going to start wearing a “uniform” to work. I thought her work was making her do it, but no. A said she read an article while waiting at her eye doctor about how a girl in NYC has been wearing a “uniform” for 3 years. In the article this girl wears a white top and black trousers and a black leather string in a bow every day.
Interested by this idea I looked up the article online. Now my first thought was why would she buy 15 of the same white top. Why not 3 of 5 different white tops. You have the same colour, but there is still a variety.
Also I wouldn’t have bought just black trousers. I would have bought 3 of black, navy and maybe a gray or brown trousers. Then alternate the white tops and trousers and just grab and go in the morning. Obviously I have a hard time wearing the same colours every day!

Another thought came to me, just like a man wears a different coloured tie, why isn’t she wearing a different necklace or scarf every day? So I called my friend A and told her my thoughts. She liked the idea of the 3 of 5 different white tops but she was just going to stick with black trousers, but wear a different necklace. I thought I had a lot of jewelry, but A has more than me!

Then I realized I do sort of do the same thing. I only wear 9 colours plus 3 basic colours of black, navy and white. Years ago I went to a party to have my “colours” done, I guess it was to help you with your make up. Anyway, I found out I was an “Autumn” and I should only wear certain colours. It did help me weed out my closet. Over the years this has helped me in my shopping, I don’t worry about buying something that I later won’t wear or doesn’t go with anything I already have.
This is my colour chart:

Colour chart

Today’s Outfit:
Black top
Black top
Snowman scarf
Snowman scarf
Green skirt
Green skirt
Black shoes
shoes

One thought on “Do you wear a Uniform to work?

  1. Hi! I just stopped by to let you know that I really liked going through your post! Very cool, interesting (and stylish too!) keep it up!
    Come check out my blog if you get the time, would love to know what you think!
    Keep blogging!
    Love,
    Mimi
    Ps. Great ideas

Leave a Reply

